Your Local Class 3 Dealer.

Here at Miller Hardware we have a wide range of firearms & Class 3 accessories to offer. With a diverse selection of handguns and rifles along with competitive prices, you will be able to find what you need here. You can find firearms made by Mossberg, Ruger, Bushmaster, Walther, Glock, Smith & Wesson, Springfield, Taurus, Remington, Bersa, Kahr, DPMS, ATI, Keltec, FNH, Savage, CZ, and many others. Can't find a particular gun you're looking for? Ask one of our sales associates and we will do our best to locate what you are looking for. > 

 Click here to check out our current firearms specials. 


Requirements to Purchase a Firearm

Identification and Residency Requirements

A primary form is all that is required for any Virginia Resident, unless the primary ID does not have your current address, in which case you will need a Government Issued secondary form, or a Change of Address card.

For Out of state sales, a primary form and secondary form of identification must be presented to the firearms dealer at the time of purchase of any firearm.


Primary Identification The primary form of ID shall consist of a valid photo-ID form issued by a governmental agency of the Commonwealth or transferee’s home state that denotes the individual’s name, race, sex, address, and date of birth. Where the primary form is a photo-ID issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the dealer shall not transfer a firearm to the prospective purchaser until 30-days after the date of issue of an original or duplicate driver's license unless a copy of his/her DMV driver's record is presented showing that the original date of issue was more than 30-days prior to the attempted purchase.


The primary form of ID for a non-Virginia resident, for the purchase of a rifle or shotgun, must consist of a valid photo-ID issued by a governmental agency of the prospective purchaser’s home state that denote the purchaser’s name, race, sex, date of birth and address. Federal law prohibits the sale or transfer of a handgun to a nonresident of the state in which the handgun is being purchased. But a hand gun can be shipped to AN FFL in your state of residency.


Transfer of an Assault Firearm

There is no longer any additional requirements within Virginia. 


Military Personnel

Active military personnel permanently stationed in Virginia, including the Pentagon, are treated as Virginia residents for the purchase of a handgun.


Identification and residency are established by the following:


A military photo-identification card issued by the United States Department of Defense and proof that Virginia is the permanent duty station via current military assignment orders is acceptable identification and residency documentation to establish military personnel as residents of Virginia.


If permanently assigned to a mobile unit in Virginia, and the homeport is listed as Virginia; the transaction may be processed as a Virginia resident the same as any other permanent military assignment to Virginia supported by military assignment orders. The individual is treated as a non-Virginia resident if the homeport is listed as any place other than Virginia. Individuals retired from military service are subject to the same identification and residency requirements as any other person wishing to purchase a firearm; i.e., a primary and secondary form of ID.


What is the legal age to purchase or possess a firearm?

 A person must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a rifle or shotgun from a licensed firearms dealer. To purchase a handgun from a licensed firearms dealer, you must be at least 21 years of age, pursuant to federal law. For statutory regulations concerning underage persons possessing firearms, refer to Virginia Code Section18.2-308.7, possession or transportation of certain firearms by persons under the age of eighteen.


What is the legal age to purchase ammunition?

 Virginia law does not address age requirements for the purchase of ammunition. Federal law requires an individual to be at least 21 years of age to purchase handgun ammunition, and at least 18 years old to purchase rifle or shotgun ammunition.